For Members

Living on the Frontier


No Meetings in Your Area?

What is meant by "Living on the Frontier?"

The term, “Living on the Frontier” refers to members who are far away from an established fellowship.

Going to an FA meeting is the ideal way to learn about FA and get started, but if there are no meetings anywhere near you, we can help!

Do you think you're a food addict? These questions may help you decide:
20 Questions

If you'd like to learn more about food addiction and FA's program of recovery, here are some helpful resources:

DIGITAL NEWCOMER PACKET

When you attend an FA meeting, you receive a Newcomer packet. For frontier members we offer a digital newcomer packet. Click the link: Digital Newcomer Packet


THE LONG-DISTANCE SPONSOR LIST

Sponsors are FA members who will guide you with a food plan and the tools of FA. The Long-Distance Sponsor List is a helpful resource for members who are far away from an established fellowship. Members on this list may be available for long-distance sponsorship, or they can help you find someone with time available. To receive a copy, or to add your name to the list, click the link here: Long-Distance Sponsor List


THE FRONTIER MEMBER LIST

Talking to other FA members is an important tool used in the FA program. The Frontier Member List is a helpful resource for members who are far away from an established fellowship. To receive a copy, or to add your name to the list, click the link here: Frontier Member List


THE UNIVERSAL LANGUAGE LIST

The Universal Language List is an excellent resource for members who speak a language other than English. Members on this list have the desire to receive/return phone calls and have some ability to speak in a language other than English. To receive a copy, or to add your name to the list, click the link here: Universal Language List.


2019 FRONTIER RESOURCE CALL SERIES hosted by the 12th Step Committee

If you're surrounded by meetings, but want to help FA grow, these calls will help you understand how you can support those who are far away from fellowship. If you don't have meetings, you can learn how to stay abstinent through connecting with the wider fellowship, and stay connected through service.

Each call focuses on an aspect of frontier life and helpful resources.

To accommodate people living in varying time zones, we will host two calls at different times on the same subject:

  • Time Zone 1 accommodates those in US/Europe/Africa.
  • Time Zone 2 accommodates those in Asia/Australia/New Zealand.

      • Time Zone 1 (These times are all for the same call)
        • Sunday, April 28, 2019 1:30-2:30pm EST (USA)
        • Sunday, April 28, 2019 6:30-7:30pm BST (UK)
        • Monday, April 29, 2019 3:30-4:30am AEST (Australia)

      • Time Zone 2 (These times are all for the same call)
        • Sunday, May 19, 2019 8:00-9:00am AEST (Australia)
        • Sunday, May 19, 2019 6:00-7:00am CST (China)
        • Saturday, May 18, 2019 6:00-7:00pm EST (USA)

INSTRUCTIONS FOR JOINING THE RESOURCE CALL

Dial into the conference call:

United States Dial-in number: (712) 775-7031 
United States Access Code: 224637

International Dial-in numbers: https://www.freeconferencecall.com/wall/12thstep/#international

Join the online PowerPoint presentation: https://join.freeconferencecall.com/12thstep

Contact: frontier@foodaddicts.org

Thank you!
12th Step Committee


STORIES

Below are some stories from people who currently live, or have lived, on the frontier.


PUBLIC INFORMATION RESOURCES

New meetings start one at a time, typically by several members who have been abstinent at least six months. The resources listed below are available to assist those who want to start new meetings or grow fellowships in their area by educating the general public about FA. Suggestions and guidelines are provided to help efforts to attract newcomers.